Quick Database Links
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) – Evidence Based Practice searching
MEDLINE (Ovid)
JBI COnNECT+ (from Joanna Briggs Institute)
Web of Science Citation Databases (via Web of Knowledge)
Need More Help?
Use one of the tabs above to find specific information for finding articles, books, journals, and reference materials.
If you need further assistance, the University Library Reference Desk provide assistance in many ways:
- In-person at the Information/Reference desk
- By phone : 317.274.0469 or toll free 1.888.422.0499
- By e-mail: refdesk@iupui.edu
- By online chat: Ask a Librarian
- By text: (66746)
Also, Randi Stocker, librarian for Nursing, can assist you if you have questions or would like to schedule a research help meeting. Find her contact information on the right side of this page.
Library news for Nursing - Topics
Use the RED TABS near the top of this page to access:
Articles & Journals, Tutorials, Books & Dissertations, Dictionaries etc., Health Statistics, or Tests & Measures
IUPUI Nursing Library Research Guide news:
- WELCOME TO THE NEW IUPUI LIBRARY RESOURCES GUIDE FOR NURSING. (The former page will remain available for several more weeks at: http://ulib.iupui.edu/subjectareas/nursing/old) (February 8, 2012)
- v.3 of Randi Stocker's Literature Search Planning & Revision Tool now available (April 2012)
- Supplement the results of your CINAHL-Evidence-Based-Practice version search (February 2012)
- MSN Orientation slides & search worksheet(s) available for download (August 2011)
- Want some additional background information about a Journal? (August 2011)
- Education & Information Technology digital Library (EdITLib) added to Finding Articles (August 2011)
- No longer available: Gale OneFile articles and Computer Database (August 2011)
- Joanna Briggs Institute website redesigned and more (March/April 2011)
- Randi Stocker not receiving some messages (March/April 2011)
- Library "Getting Started" handouts now available (Aug 2010)
- Oncourse Citation List is a great replacement for eShelf (spring 2010)
- APA 6th Edition (& corrections to 6th ed.) now available (fall 2009)
- Copyright info you can use (fall 2009)
- CINAHL Links & CINAHL Tutorials (spring 2009)
Library news for Nursing - Blog
v.3 of Randi Stocker's Literature Search Planning & Revision Tool now available. (April 2012)
The newest version of Randi Stocker's tool, Literature Search Planning & Revision Tool - v3, is now available for download. The latest version should always be available from the Search Tools box located at the top of this guide's ARTICLES & JOURNALS page.
Supplement the results of your CINAHL-Evidence-Based-Practice version search. (February 2012)
There are a variety of reasons why a nursing article might appear first in another library database - so to do a more thorough search, add one or more of these library databases to your literature search:
CINAHL - General Search version – use the Advanced search screen (click the “Advanced” link, located just below the search input box) to do a keyword search: http://ulib.iupui.edu/cgi-bin/proxy.pl?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=rzh
Ovid Nursing Database (found at the bottom of Ovid’s database menu): http://ulib.iupui.edu/cgi-bin/proxy.pl?url=http://gateway.ovid.com/autologin.html
Try one of the more limited nursing collections from a different search provider such as:
- Nursing Resource Center (Gale): http://ulib.iupui.edu/cgi-bin/proxy.pl?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/iulib_iupui?db=NRC
- Nursing & Allied Health Source (Proquest): http://ulib.iupui.edu/cgi-bin/proxy.pl?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/iulib_iupui?db=PPNU
Search a broad biomedical database such as:
- Ovid Medline: http://ulib.iupui.edu/cgi-bin/proxy.pl?url=http://gateway.ovid.com/autologin.html
- PubMed: https://proxy.medlib.iupui.edu/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?holding=iusomlib
- Embase: http://ulib.iupui.edu/cgi-bin/proxy.pl?url=http://www.embase.com
Use Ovid Healthstar – if the topic is related to Nursing Administration: http://ulib.iupui.edu/cgi-bin/proxy.pl?url=http://gateway.ovid.com/autologin.html
Use Web of Science: http://ulib.iupui.edu/cgi-bin/proxy.pl?url=http://isiknowledge.com/wos
MSN Orientation slides & search worksheet(s) available for download (August 2011)
The Search Planning worksheet along with a demo planning worksheet with a sample search inserted are available for download.
The powerpoint files are too large to be loaded and will need to be divided up into smaller files. They should be available by Friday, August 19 .
Want some additional background information about a Journal? (August 2011)
See the new box, "Information ABOUT specific Journals" located in the left-hand column of this guide's ARTICLES & JOURNALS page. This new box includes links to Cabell's Directories (covering selected journals in Nursing, Health Administration, Education, & Psychology), Journal Citation Reports-JCR (official source for journal Impact Factors), and Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory.
Education & Information Technology digital Library (EdITLib) added to ARTICLES & JOURNALS page. (August 2011)
The EdITLib Digital Library covers research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning. It is sponsored by the Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education (AACE) and has over 22,000 peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and conference papers. It was added to two sections of the Nursing Databases list: "Education Databases" and "Technology">"Computer & Information Science Databases".
No Longer Available: Gale OneFile articles and Computer Database (August 2011)
The following databases are no longer subscribed to by IUPUI Libraries and are no longer available to IUPUI users: Gale OneFile (which included full text articles in journals from many disciplines) and Computer Database. Many of the full text articles included in these resources are also available in other IUPUI databases. If you are concerned about the loss of a particular publication, please contact Librarian, Randi Stocker, (email: rstocker@iupui.edu; voicemail: 317-274-0494) who may be able to obtain it from a different source.
Joanna Briggs Institute website redesigned and more (March/April 2011)
The Joanna Briggs Institute website has been totally redesigned. It uses a new graphical apparoach which takes a couple of minutes to get used to, but which is quite user-friendly. Some of the features of the new design include:
- A comprehensive 'Directory’ located at the top of the site (just click on the red pebble to learn more)
- Cleaner navigation (simply click on the relevant piece of the model or via the list in the left hand navigation bar)
- New language translation feature (top right corner of screen)
-
Advanced searching capabilities (top left corner of screen)
-
Descriptions of the various tools, products, and services are much clearer than before
-
Find out ‘what’s new’ by following JBI on Facebook or Twitter - use the link on the right-hand side of the JBI home page
Randi Stocker not receiving some messages (March/April 2011)
It appears that an automatic software "upgrade" to my smartphone last month is blocking text messages from some senders. If you send me a text and don't happen to hear back from me within two hours, please follow-up with an email or voicemail message.
Library "Getting Started" handouts now available (Aug 2010)
Brief IUPUI library information for new students, faculty, and staff can be found in these colorful one-page handouts:
-
Accessing IUPUI Library Resources & Assistance (quick preview of the other handouts)
-
Connecting to IUPUI Library Resources (link a new laptop to IU Secure; instal & using VPN)
-
Locating Articles Using IUPUI Library Resources (Univ. & Medical library websites; Library Nursing page)
-
Improving Your Library Database Searching (tutorials; meet with a librarian; plan your search)
-
Requesting Articles Not Available at IUPUI (Interlibrary Loan: from Find It & from library websites)
Oncourse Citation List is a great replacement for eShelf (spring 2010)
Citation Lists reside in Oncourse Resources and the resulting links can easily be edited or deleted. The lists can be rolled over into newer versions of the course, and can be edited by other instructors. The resulting citation lists contain links for retrieving the full text or physical location of the information. Copies of these citation lists can be attached to other items (e.g., assignments, forum postings, calendar items) within your Oncourse worksite. Citations can be added from MetaSearch, Google Scholar, or typed in directly.
Aids for creating Oncourse Citation Lists can be found at: Citation List -- Course Readings links in Oncourse Resources (http://www.ulib.iupui.edu/research/oncourse/citationlist)
APA 6th Edition now available (last updated 9/10/2009)
Some useful resources for faculty, staff, and students include summaries of the changes, brief guides to the 6th edition, and tutorials for learning APA Style.
Good guides to APA 6th Edition
- APA Formatting and Style Guide - from Purdue OWL (covers all areas of APA style) - printing link at the bottom of each screen
-
APA Citation Examples - University of Maryland University College
-
APA 6th Edition: Selected Guide to Citing Resources - from Wake Forest University - 5 page guide
- Citing Sources Using APA Manual (6th ed.) - from Nova Southeastern University - 20 page pdf
-
"APA Documentation Style, Sixth Edition" - from IUPUI Writing Center - 6 page pdf
Useful resources for teaching others APA Style 6th Edition
-
APA PowerPoint Slide Presentation - From Purdue OWL
-
APA Style Workshop - from Purdue OWL (tutorial)
-
APA Reference Formatting: 6th Edition from IUPUI (tutorial)
-
APA Style (6th Edition) -- Library Guide - from Nova Southeastern University (series of in-depth tutorials)
-
The Basics of APA Style - from APA (tutorial)
-
APA Style - FAQ - from APA
Corrections to July 2009 printing of APA 6th edition
Changes from the 5th edition (summaries from the APA)
-
What's New in the Sixth Edition (tutorial),
Items that are in compliance with current Copyright law may be uploaded into Oncourse Resources to make them available to students. To determine whether a given item is in compliance, see Some Copyright Information for Instructors using Oncourse at IUPUI
Beginning January 2009, CINAHL is only availble from EBSCOhost. Two EBSCOhost versions are available at IUPUI:
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) – Evidence Based Practice searching
Automatically Maps keywords to official Subject Headings. Also offers basic keyword searching, citation searching, and index term browsing.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) - General searching
Use when you are looking for a specific author or article title. Offers basic keyword searching, multi-term keyword searching, visual searching, citation searching, and index term browsing.
2011 Recommended Tutorials are available under the "Tutorials" tab at the top of this guide.
IUPUI Tutorials for Evidence Based Practice searching of CINAHL (most require the free Flash player):
-
Connecting to IUPUI Library Resources from Off Campus (6 slides) - Authenticating (Proving you are a valid IUPUI user); Why use IUPUI SSL VPN; Getting VPN help -- [Rev. July 2009]
-
CINAHL Tutorial Part A - Launching IUPUI SSL VPN and Opening the CINAHL database (~2.5 min. ) - Activating a VPN connection & Opening IUPUI's Evidence Based Practice interface for EBSCOhost CINAHL Plus -- [Rev. July 2009]
-
CINAHL Tutorial Part B - EBSCOhost searching basics (~5 min.) - Using Suggest subject terms (Map term to subject), Major concept (Focus), Subheadings, Quick limits, & Combine searches
-
CINAHL Tutorial Part C - Using Advanced Limits & Explode in EBSCOhost CINAHL (~5 min.) - Using Explode, Using Advanced Limits such as Clinical Queries.
-
CINAHL Tutorial Part D1 - Viewing Articles: Basics (~4 min.) - EBSCOhost Full Text/PDF, Find It button, Google Scholar, Google
-
CINAHL Tutorial Part D2 - Viewing Articles: Additional Topics (~6.5 min.) - Searching without VPN, "Clinical Queries - Qualitative Studies", ScienceDirect confusion, CINAHL->Highwire data error
-
CINAHL Tutorial Part E1 - Ordering Articles: Registering for Free Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD) (<3 min.) - setting up accounts at two different IUPUI Libraries
-
CINAHL Tutorial Part E2 - Ordering Articles: Using Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD) (~ 3 min.) from Find It (the Serials Solutions Article Linker window)
Original CINAHL OVID Tutorial: Library Database Searching for Evidence Based Nursing Practice at IUPUI (Fall 2008)
Subject Guide |
Contact Info personal cell phone:317-409-1974 office: 317-274-0494 My hours are irregular, so the best way to reach me is via e-mail or phone. To schedule an in-person, phone, or email meeting, leave me a message via email or phone. Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Nursing |

Loading...
