Skip to main content

Phase 1 (Years 1 & 2) Library Resources

Medical Student Library Resources

Welcome to the Ruth Lilly Medical Library resources!

The majority of our resources are available electronically, which makes is easy for you to access from the library, your home, laptop, phone, tablet, etc.

MS1 and MS2 textbook tabs include links to electronic textbooks for your classes (this will not include ALL of your textbooks). Those which we have available electronically or in physical print in the library in Indianapolis are included. Both required and recommended textbooks are on these lists.

 

Background Resources

MS1 Textbooks

MS2 Textbooks

Information Resources for Background Questions

Mobile Resources

Lecture Recordings


AccessMedicine
Collection of 94 basic and clinical medical texts, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's the Heart, the Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Series, and tools like Diagnosaurus, a differential diagnosis tool, and a case study for students. Also included are an image gallery, drug database (Clinical Pharmacology Online), patient education information, and a link to appendices with normal laboratory values.

ClinicalKey
An "insight search engine" that searches across a select group of journals, books, images, and includes ProceduresConsult (select from "all types" drop-down menu). For a listing, see "Resources by Specialty", the library's subscription includes the extended content.
5 minute introductory video.  Tip:  Set up a personal account to utilize the pdf downloads, presentation maker, and reading list features.

LWW Health Library Premium Basic Sciences Collection
This collection consists of 52 ebooks including Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, Grant's Atlas of Anatomy, and Pulmonary Pathophysiology: The Essentials. Additionally, there are self-assessment quizzes and audio/video clips available.

UpToDate
Database of clinical topic overviews in narrative format that includes images, links to primary literature and related UpToDate articles, patient information, the Lexi-Comp drug database, and medical calculators.

Lexi-comp
Focused drug database with an overview of medications, including the mechanism of action, side effects, secondary benefits, and patient information. This database focuses mainly on drugs and drug interactions, but there are also medical calculators.

Micromedex
An extensive database of drug monographs that also includes toxicology (Poisindex), reproductive toxicology (ReproRisk), calculators, and reference values.

 

Free Resources Online

MedlinePlus
A resource for patient education with tutorials, surgery videos, drug information, and medical dictionary.


 

Evaluation link: TBD

 

975 W. Walnut Street, IB 100 | Indianapolis, IN 46202 | Ph: (317) 274-7182 | Fax: (317) 278-4506