Skip to main content

Free and Sponsored Medical/Health Resources

Free Biomedical Literature Resources

Sponsored Resources

INSPIRE is Indiana's Virtual Library and includes research resources on your desktop. Any Indiana individual, business or organization can access these resources and locate full-text electronic articles from medical and nursing databases, as well as business resources. Sponsored by the Indiana State Library and funded by Build Indiana Funds. Access is limited to the citizens of Indiana.

Free Journal Articles

Note: The most respected and high quality journals are usually not available for free.  Fee-based articles must be purchased from the publisher or acquired from a library.

PubMed and PubMed Central

  • PubMed will search the medical literature and provide citations, some to free articles, but mainly to articles that must be purchased or acquired from a library.
  • PubMed Central is where the free articles in PubMed are located. This can searched directly or found by searching PubMed.

   

Google Scholar

  • Google Scholar searches the professional literature in medicine, nursing, business and sciences. It will link to some free articles, but primarily to articles that must be purchased or acquired. Many libraries link their paid subscriptions to Google Scholar so it will also search library resources if the link has been established.

 Other Journal Resources

                                  

                 

International Resources

Biomedical Resources for Libraries Outside the United States - National Library of Medicine

HINARI Access to Research in Health Programme - enables low- and middle- income countries to gain access to collections of biomedical and health literature. Up to 14,000 journals (in 30 different languages), up to 46,000 e-books, up to 100 other information resources are now available to health institutions in more than 100 countries.

African Journals Online - African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and pre-eminent collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals. Includes many open access journals.

Free Databases

Clinical Trials.gov

Clinical Trials (National Cancer Institute)

Hazardous Substances Databank -  Peer-reviewed toxicology data for over 5,000 hazardous chemicals                 

National Center for Biotechnology Information - Access to biomedical and genomic information

National Guideline Clearinghouse

OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man - Online catalog of human genes and genetic disorders

TOXNET (National Library of Medicine) -  Includes TOXLINE, a bibliographic database of specialized journal articles and other sources.

Evidence Based Resources

Medscape - free registration

Merck Manual Professional Edition

Merck Medicusnow available from Univadas  - free registration

Health Related Statistics

Tests for Health Careers

Access to evidence-based or practice-based information is vital for all health professionals. Using the resources on this page should make research easier and more efficient, either for clinical care or continuing education.

Need assistance with test preparation? INSPIRE provides practice tests for the:

  • NCLEX-PN
  • NCLEX-RN
  • Medical Assisting Online Course

There are also other ebooks for medical/health careers.

PATIENT INFORMATION

Go here for Patient Education/Consumer Health information

975 W. Walnut Street, IB 100 | Indianapolis, IN 46202 | Ph: (317) 274-7182 | Fax: (317) 278-4506