Skip to main content

Medical Library Research Guide

LINKING TO FULL TEXT FROM THE RUTH LILLY MEDICAL LIBRARY

Instructions are available here for accessing full-text articles from the Ruth Lilly Medical Library. It includes directions for automatically adding PDFs to EndNote libraries.

Finding the Full Text of Journal Articles

FREE BIOMEDICAL LITERATURE RESOURCES

Sponsored Resources

INSPIRE is Indiana's Virtual Library and includes research resources on your desktop. Any Indiana individual, business or organization can access these resources and locate full-text electronic articles from medical and nursing databases, as well as business resources. Sponsored by the Indiana State Library and funded by Build Indiana Funds. Access is limited to the citizens of Indiana.

Free Journal Articles

Note: The most respected and high quality journals are usually not available for free.  Fee-based articles must be purchased from the publisher or acquired from a library.

PubMed and PubMed Central

  • PubMed will search the medical literature and provide citations, some to free articles, but mainly to articles that must be purchased or acquired from a library.
  • PubMed Central is where the free articles in PubMed are located. This can searched directly or found by searching PubMed.

   

Google Scholar

  • Google Scholar searches the professional literature in medicine, nursing, business and sciences. It will link to some free articles, but primarily to articles that must be purchased or acquired. Many libraries link their paid subscriptions to Google Scholar so it will also search library resources if the link has been established.

 Other Journal Resources

                                  

                 

International Resources

Biomedical Resources for Libraries Outside the United States - National Library of Medicine

HINARI Access to Research in Health Programme - enables low- and middle- income countries to gain access to collections of biomedical and health literature. Up to 14,000 journals (in 30 different languages), up to 46,000 e-books, up to 100 other information resources are now available to health institutions in more than 100 countries.

African Journals Online - African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and pre-eminent collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals. Includes many open access journals.

975 W. Walnut Street, IB 100 | Indianapolis, IN 46202 | Ph: (317) 274-7182 | Fax: (317) 278-4506