This is the "REFERENCE MATERIALS" page of the "GLBTQ Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GLBTQ Studies  

Last Updated: Jan 23, 2013 URL: http://iupui.campusguides.com/glbtq Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

REFERENCE MATERIALS Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

GENERAL

Cover Art
The Alyson almanac : a treasury of information for the gay and lesbian community - Sasha; Chapple, Joe Alyson
Call Number: HQ76.8.U5 A48 1989
A chronology of gay-significant events to 1990


Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Homosexuality
Call Number: HQ76.25 .E53 1990 v.1-2
Signed articles covering the range of knowledge, study, opinion, and thought about homosexuality with international and historical perspectives

Cover Art
The gay & lesbian atlas
Call Number: HQ76.3.U5 G355 2004
a detailed geographic and demographic portrait of gay and lesbian families in all 50 states plus the top 25 U.S. metropolitan areas.


Cover Art
Gay histories and cultures : an encyclopedia - George Haggerty and Bonnie Zimmerman (editors)
Call Number: HQ75.13 .G37 2000
Volume one of the unacknowledged successor to the Encyclopedia of Homosexuality, the Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures

Cover Art
Is it a choice? : answers to the most frequently asked questions about gay and lesbian people - Eric Marcus
Call Number: HQ76.3.U5 M35 2005
Fair-minded, commonsense answers to questions about gay life and culture.

Cover Art
Lesbian and Gay Studies: an introductory, interdisciplinary approach - Theo Sandofort (editor)
Call Number: HQ75.15 .L44 2000
This timely and thoughtful book seeks to demonstrate the coherence of lesbian and gay studies. It introduces the reader to the principal inter-disciplinary approaches in the field and critically assesses their strengths and weaknesses whilst asking what is lesbian and gay studies? When did it emerge? And what are its achievements and research agenda? The Connections between the academic study of the subject and the lesbian and gay movement are also examined.

Cover Art
The Lesbian and Gay Studies Reader - Henry Abelove, Michele Aina Barale, and David M. Halperin (editors)
Call Number: HQ76.25 .L48 1993
The Lesbian and Gay Studies Reader is the most comprehensive multidisciplinary anthology of critical work in lesbian/gay studies. Bringing together forty-two groundbreaking essays--many of them already classics--this collection provides a much-needed introduction to the current state of lesbian/gay studies, and illustrates the diversity and power of current work in the field.








Cover Art
St. James Press gay & lesbian almanac - Schlager, Neil (editor)
Call Number: HQ76.3.U5 S75 1998
22 topical surveys offer a comprehensive review of the GLBT experience in the US from the 1940's to the mid-1990's


 

LEGAL/POLITICAL ISSUES




Cover Art
Gay and lesbian issues : a reference handbook - Chuck Stewart
Call Number: HQ76.25 .S748 2003
available electronically

Cover Art
Gay and lesbian rights: a reference handbook - David E. Newton
second edition on order; first edition available electronically

Cover Art
Gay rights - Rachel Kranz, Tim Cusick
Call Number: HQ76.8.U5 K73 2005


Cover Art
Handbook of Gay and Lesbian Studies - Diane Richardson and Steven Seidman (editors)
Call Number: HQ75.15 .H36 2002
Text consists of original work on the present state and future direction of Lesbian and Gay Studies. Chapters provide a statement of debate in specific areas, key theoretical positions, and existing research. Sections contain history and theory, identity and community, institutions, and politics.

Cover Art
Historical dictionary of the gay liberation movement : gay men and the quest for social justice
Call Number: HQ76.5 .H86 1999
Recounts the gay liberation movement in three periods: the early period (1864-1935), the post-WWII and pre-Stonewall period (1945-1968), and the post-Stonewall period (1969-).


Cover Art
Homosexuality and the law: a dictionary - Chuck Stewart
Call Number: KF4754.5.A68 S74 2001
available electronically


The rights of lesbians and gay men
available electronically



 

CULTURE & HISTORY





Cover Art
Out in Theory: the emergence of lesbian and gay anthropology - William L. Leap and Ellen Lewin (editors)
Call Number: HQ75.5.O936 2002
A companion volume to "Out in the Field", a benchmark examination of lesbian and gay experiences in anthropology, "Out in Theory" presents lesbian and gay anthropology as a distinct specialization and addresses the theoretical issues that define the emerging field.



 

ARTS, FILM, MEDIA AND LITERATURE

Cover Art
The bent lens: a world guide to gay and lesbian film, 2nd edition - Lisa Daniels and Claire Jackson (editors)
Call Number: PN1995.9.H55 B45 2003
2300 titles from 45 countries, including feature films, documentaries and short films.




Cover Art
Hollywood gays - Hadleigh, Boze
Call Number: PN1995.9.H55 H33 1996
It opens the closet door for a look at, and conversation with, ten gay men of the silver screen.

Cover Art
Hollywood lesbians - Hadleigh, Boze
Call Number: PN1995.9.L48 H23 1994
It opens the closet door for a look at, and conversation with, ten female celebrities of the golden age.

Cover Art
Images in the dark: an encyclopedia of gay and lesbian film and video - Murray, Raymond
Call Number: PN1995.9.H55 M877 1998
This work documents the influence of gays and lesbians in the film world.




 

MULTIMEDIA

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip