This is the "Home" page of the "EndNote" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote   Tags: endnote  

The purpose of this guide to assist users with using the citation management software, EndNote.
Last Updated: Oct 8, 2013 URL: http://iupui.campusguides.com/endnote Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Word 2011/2010

EndNote X4 is only compatible with Word 2010 for Windows and Word 2011 for Mac OS X.

If you have a previous verison of Word, download EndNote X3 or EndNote X3 for Mac.

Don't like EndNote?

Check out Zotero as an alternative, or see what other citation managers can do:

 

What do you think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

About EndNote

 

 

EndNote is a program for managing bibliographic citations. It can automate much of the work of organizing and formatting citations and bibliographies in your writing. EndNote can connect to online sources such as IUCAT and article databases. Further, it formats references in  over 1,000 different bibliographic styles, and more.

EndNote is available free of charge to Indiana University and IUPUI students, faculty and staff. Download it here through IUware. IUware current has Endnote versions X5, X4, X3 and X2 available for download for windows machines and Endnote version X5X4 and X3 for Macs.

The latest version available for windows computers is EndNote X7. The latest version for Macs is EndNote X7.

*Please note, EndNote has released updates for EndNote X6 for PC and Mac. Your EndNote program will work better, if you download the updates.*

 

EndNote Tutorial

Below is an video overview of EndNote. You can find more EndNote video tutorials on Youtube or at the EndNote Training website from Thomson Reuters.

 

Where to Get Help

Don't get discouraged if it takes a little while to get comfortable using EndNote. With a little practice it isn't difficult, and there are many resources available for help and information.

  • EndNote's built-in help system: just press F1
  • EndNote manual in PDF format: in Windows XP, click Start Menu / All Programs / EndNote / EndNote Manual
  • ISI's EndNote support page
  • ISI's EndNote Tutorials

Downloading Updates: Connection Files, Import Filters, Output Styles

A common way to correct a problem with importing or outputting citations is simply to update the connection file, filter or output style. These can be downloaded from ISI's EndNote support page.

Also, you can check out Indiana University, Bloomington's resources for EndNote.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Should I use one library file for all my references, or separate libraries for different projects?

It may be easiest to use one library for everything and set up a separate group of references for each project, but it's entirely up to you.  EndNote works fine with multiple library files.

I already have a long bibliography that I typed in Word. Can I convert it to an EndNote library?

Unfortunately there's no way to do this automatically. The best way is to search for your references online (if possible) and download them into EndNote.

How do I download search results from my favorite database into EndNote?

Every database works a little differently. In general, the procedure is:

  1. Search the database as usual.
  2. Choose the references you want to save.
  3. Use the database's Save or Export function.  There's often a choice to export to EndNote, or save references in a text file that EndNote can read via Import on the File menu.

I tried using EndNote's Online Search feature to search a database, but it asks for a password.

Online Search works best with library catalogs like IUCAT or free databases like Pubmed.  Most databases work best by exporting from your browser rather than using EndNote's Online Search function.

How do I add page numbers to an in-text citation?

Right-click the formatted citation and choose "Edit Citation" from the menu. Fill in the page numbers (including spaces and punctuation) in the "Pages" field, click OK, then reformat your bibliography.


Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Willie Miller
 

School of Medicine EndNote Resources

Check out the IU School of Medicine's EndNote page for assistance from the Medical Library.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip