The links below will take you to some wonderful literature pages on the web.
From these sites, you may read or download classic and contemporary novels, poetry, and nonfiction.
And the best part is, they're all free!
Please keep in mind that links followed by the IUPUI logo () are limited to IUPUI students, faculty, and staff.
- Books24x7: ITPro (Click on "Find Books") Collection of books in the field of technology.
- Ebrary More than 20,000 titles available
- netLibrary More than 13,000 new and classic book titles available. Searchable by subject, keyword, title, or author. Users may browse or search the collections, and enjoy a 15-minute viewing of the text, but an account must be created to borrow books. Only users accessing the page through University Library at IUPUI will have the ability to borrow books at no cost.
- Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts Includes titles from American literature, English literature, and Western philosophy.
- Athena Authors & Texts Links to almost 10,000 fiction/nonfiction books in several languages.
- Banned Books On-Line Collection of books which have been targets of censorship attempts.
- A Celebration of Women Writers As the name says, these are writings by women. Also provides links to biographies and bibliographies of women writers.
- Complete Works of William Shakespeare--the Plays Searchable database of Shakespeare's plays. Titles arranged in categories of Comedy, History, Tragedy, and Poetry. Also includes Shakespearean quotes from Bartlett's Quotations.
- EEBO: Early English Books Online
- Electronic Text Center Collections Description from site: "holdings include approximately 70,000 on- and off-line humanities texts in twelve languages, with more than 350,000 related images." Many titles, however, are restricted to University of Virginia users only.
- Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature Links to online sources for non-English language texts.
- GallicaThe Bibliotheque nationale de France has over 800,000 documents, available through this site. The website and all instructions are in French, but the texts themselves are in many languages (although French is the most predominant).
- Humanities Text Initiative: Modern English Collection Provides search and browse features for a collection of modern English texts.
- Internet Sacred Text Archive Significant primary texts of Traditional, Eastern, and Western religions and mythologies.
- The Online Books Page Extensive collection of English texts from the University of Pennsylvania. Browse by author, title, or Library of Congress subject heading.
- Philosophy Resources on the Internet Database of over 900 e-texts of famous philosophers and sociologists.
- PinkMonkey.com Odd name, great content. In addition to full text literary classics, this site offers chapter summaries (including all of the Barron's Booknotes titles), online textbooks, and links to quality educational websites. Requires free registration.
- Project Gutenberg Incredible collection of "light" literature (e.g. Alice in Wonderland), "heavy" literature (e.g. Red Badge of Courage), and reference works (e.g. Roget's Thesaurus). The collection includes over 19,000 texts.
- University of Adelaide Library: E-books A collection of classics, including fiction, non-fiction, plays, philosophy, and poems.
- The Victorian Women Writers Project Works by British women writers of the 19th century.