This is the "Home" page of the "Research in African American History in IUPUI Special Collections and Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research in African American History in IUPUI Special Collections and Archives  

Research collections in IUPUI Special Collections and Archives pertaining to African American topics
Last Updated: Aug 15, 2014 URL: http://iupui.campusguides.com/content.php?pid=280677 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Researching African American Topics in Special Collections and Archives

IUPUI Special Collections and Archives holds many IUPUI University Archives records and manuscripts collections pertaining to African American-related topics.  They include:

University Records

Office of the Chancellor Records  The Chancellor is the top administrator on the IUPUI campus.  Records include correspondence with the Black Student Union and other groups and individuals regarding African-American students and relations with the African-American community in Indianapolis.

Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor/Dean of the Faculties Records  The Dean of the Faculties is the top academic administrator and guides academic policies on the IUPUI campus.  Records include correspondence with students, faculty, and community regarding the development of African-American academic programs.

Office of the Vice Chancellor of Student Life and Dean of the Students Records  The Vice Chancellor of Student Life works with students and student groups, including African-American and community organizations.

Indiana University-Indianapolis Downtown Campus Records  Prior to the merger of Indiana University's and Purdue University's Indianapolis campuses, the IU-DTC was led by Dean Joseph T. Taylor, who later became Dean of the IUPUI School of Liberal Arts.

School of Liberal Arts Records  The School of Liberal Arts was first led by Dean Joseph T. Taylor, who played a leading role in working with African-American students and campus neighbors.

Student Government Records  Includes minutes of meetings of student government organizations and groups.

Black Student Union Records.  The BSU was a vocal organization that advocated on behalf of African-American students and the neighborhood surrounding IUPUI in the 1960s and 1970s. 

Other Records

Flanner House Records  Flanner House was established in 1903 to serve the Indianapolis African-American Community.  Joseph T. Taylor, later a prominent IUPUI teacher and administrator, served on its staff.

New Farmers of America Records  Established in 1935, NFA served to help educate African-American farm youth and to promote agricultural leadership.

Marion, Indiana Lynching Oral Interviews  In 1977 Larry Allyn Conrad conducted taped interviews with persons who witnessed or had special knowledge of the 1930 lynching murders of two African-American men in Marion, Indiana. 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Stephen Towne
Contact Info
University Library
Room UL 0117A
setowne@iupui.edu
317-278-3445
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip