Skip to main content

Citation Styles and Tools

Citation Linker

If you have the citation of an article, you can quickly and easily find the full text from IUPUI using this Citation Linker.

Simply enter appropriate citation information into the form below, press the 'Look Up' button to view full text options.

Please include one of the Journal, ISSN, DOI, or PMID information.

     
     

 

4 Methods to Find an Article's Full Text from a Citation

1.    When you have found a promising source in a print bibliography or footnotes, the foolproof method for getting access to the full-text is to check the Citation Linker found on the library's home page under Resources > Tools. Fill in as much of the citation as you can, but be sure to include either the journal name, ISSN (international standard serial number -- the journal's ID), DOI (digital object identifier) or PMID (unique identifier from PubMed).

2.    Another method is to search for the Journal TITLE in the Electronic Journals List (search box below). Do not search for the article title, do not waste your time searching JSTOR or other databases.

Search for Periodical Titles
   

Example of a Journal Citation (text in bold=title you want to search)

Fine, M. (1988) ‘Sexuality, Schooling, and Adolescent Females: The Missing Discourse of Desire’, Harvard Educational Review 58(1): 29–53.

3.    If you are using Google Scholar to search, be sure to set up the "Library Links" option through Settings so that the "Find it @ IUPUI" option shows up. That way, when you run across article citations, say from ResearchGate or other sites, you'll be able to tell immediately if IUPUI can give you access to the article through our subscriptions. 

4.    If we don't have access to the full-text of the journal, Interlibrary Loan (ILL) allows you to obtain journal articles at no cost to you. Delivery of most documents is done electronically via e-mail. See infographic below for steps to have the ILL request form automatically populate (fill in) for you.

Forward and Backward Citation Searching (Expanding Your Search Results)

Forward and Backward Citation Searching. To expand your research, and do a thorough literature review, you should do a forward and backward citation search on really relevant articles. Backward = review the bibliography of the article. Forward = Search for the article title in Google Scholar and/or Web of Science to see who has cited the article since it was published.

Citation Management Tools

Citation management tools allow you to keep citations, full-text articles, and other research resources organized in one place. These tools can also be used to format your bibliographies and the citations in your papers according to the appropriate style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.) To use these tools, you should be familiar with the target citation style in order to input information correctly and notice any errors in your bibliography. Please contact a subject librarian for further assistance.

End Note

EndNote is software that helps manage citations for bibliographies. Includes an add-in for Microsoft Word. For questions about EndNote, please contact Willie Miller, the EndNote specialist librarian, or your subject librarian.

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. It includes a Microsoft Word plug-in and web importer. For questions, please contact your subject librarian.

Zotero

Zotero is a free Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, cite, and share your research sources. It includes an add-in for Microsoft Word. For questions, please contact Ted Polley, the Zotero specialist librarian, or your subject librarian.