from Elsevier Science Ltd., is the only comprehensive database containing both bibliographic references and extensive abstracts to information in physical and human geography and international development issues.
It covers the following aspects of human health and disease:
- communicable diseases (including HIV/AIDS) - tropical diseases, i.e, diseases in the tropics (including field and experimental studies) - parasitic diseases and parasitology - medical entomology - human nutrition (including food composition, food poisoning, effects of diet on health, nutritional disorders, and experimental aspects) - community and public health (including chronic diseases, occupational health, health status indicators, the impact of agriculture on health, and cancer epidemiology) - medicinal and poisonous plants (including pharmacology, tissue culture, animal studies, plant composition, allergens, and toxins)
It offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together analyses of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique "perspectives" articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information.
It contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery. The following topics are included: evaluation of patient outcomes; effectiveness of procedures, programs, products, services and processes; administration and planning of health facilities, services and manpower; health insurance; health policy; health services research; health economics and financial management; laws and regulation; personnel administration; quality assurance; licensure; and accreditation.
Key Resource - The core index leading to journal articles in the area of psychology. Also includes citations to articles from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as: psychiatry, education, business (organizational psychology), medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Provides citations and abstracts from over 2,500 journals as well as chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations; published from the 1800s to the present.
It is published by the U.S. Department of State and include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. They are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus.
Kaiser Family Foundation provides free, up-to-date and easy-to-access data by country on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and other key health and socio-economic indicators. Global Health Facts is comprised of more than 100 indicators and provides users with the ability to map, rank, and download the data for custom analyses. Data are obtained from a variety of public and private sources. In an effort to provide consistency across countries, data are primarily obtained from global or cross-national entities, vs. countries specifically, and therefore may not represent the most recent year available at the country level.